A workshop on the progress in the technique and application of Atom Trap Trace Analysis (ATTA)

This workshop is a follow-up to the first TANGR workshop, TANGR2012, which was held at the Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, USA, in June 2012.

It is organized in response to recent technical advances and new applications of Atom Trap Trace Analysis (ATTA), an analytical method for measuring the isotopes Kr-81, Kr-85, and Ar-39. The primary aim of the workshop is to discuss the technical progress of ATTA and thereby enabled innovative and timely applications of the noble gas radionuclides to important scientific problems in earth and environmental sciences, e.g. in the fields of groundwater hydrology, glaciology, oceanography, and paleoclimatology.


The program of TANGR2015 starts with an evening reception on Thursday, March 26, followed by a scientific program on Friday and Saturday, and ends with a Heidelberg visit on Sunday, March 29.

Independent of the workshop, but in parts with a related content, the Spring Meeting of the German Physical Society 2015 takes place in Heidelberg from March 23-27 in Heidelberg. In particular, on Thursday, March 26, there will be a plenary lecture about ATTA given by Zheng-Tian Lu, followed by a symposium on "Applied Noble Gas Physics", which will also include presentations related to ATTA.


Werner Aeschbach, Institute of Environmental Physics, Heidelberg University
Markus Oberthaler, Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University
and the Heidelberg ATTA collaboration at KIP and IUP


TANGR2015 is organized in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). We gratefully acknowledge financial support from the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Department of Physics and Astronomy of Heidelberg University and the Heidelberg Center for the Environment (HCE).


Current List of Participants (TANGR2015)



Werner Aeschbach-Hertig

Heidelberg University

Ronny Friedrich

Institute of CEZ Achäometrie

Shui-Ming Hu

USTC Hefei

Sven Ebser

Heidelberg University

Rolf Kipfer

EAWAG Zurich

Markus Kohler

ZNF Hamburg

Zhongyi Feng

Heidelberg University

Andre Loose

Columbia University

Zheng-Tian Lu

Argonne National Laboratory

Peter Mueller

Argonne National Laboratory

Markus K. Oberthaler

Heidelberg University

Roland Purtschert

University of Bern

Peter Schlosser

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory

Arne Kersting

Heidelberg University

Jeff Severinghaus

Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Bill Smethie

Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory

Toste Tanhua


Monika Rhein

University of Bremen

Reika Yokochi

University of Illinois at Chicago

Gerald Kirchner

ZNF Hamburg

Florian Ritterbusch

Heidelberg University

Clemens Schlosser

BfS Freiburg

Bernard Lavielle

CENBG Bordeaux

Axel Suckow


Carsten Sieveke

ZNF Hamburg

Pascal Bohleber

University of Maine

Michael Heidinger


Shawan Dogramaci


Krzysztof Szymaniec


Jill Brandenberger

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Craig Alseth

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Takuya Matsumoto


Henning Back

Princeton University

Norbert Frank

Heidelberg University

Helene Hoffmann

Heidelberg University

Jürgen Sültenfuß

University of Bremen

Andrea Fischer

Austrian Academy of Sciences

Martin Kralik

Environmental Agency Austria

Michael Deininger

Heidelberg University

Tobias Kluge

Heidelberg University