ResearchContactPeopleIUPedia

Simulation of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere (group Vardag)

Our group uses and improves atmospheric transport models to enhance our current understanding of the carbon cycle and provide informed support for mitigation efforts. We use the transport models to simulate the dispersion of greenhouse gases (especially carbon dioxide and methane) to compare between reported emissions and measured concentration. The comparison allows conclusions about the location, timing, and magnitude of sources and sinks.

Greenhouse gases on different scales

Greenhouse gases are dynamically distributed in the global atmosphere.  Therefore, in addition to sources and sinks, transport processes influence the actual concentration in the atmosphere. These transport processes act on scales ranging from global over regional to local. We, therefore, use different models to map the relevant processes on the respective scales:

From global...

Enhancements in Australian XCO2 caused by transported fire CO2 emissions from different regions.

Enhancements in Australian XCO2 caused by transported fire CO2 emissions from different regions. Source: Eva Schoemann
 

Global atmospheric inverse model transport prior surface fluxes forward and assimilate measurements to generate global modeled atmospheric concentrations.  By varying the surface fluxes, the differences between measured and modeled concentrations are minimized. In collaboration with Sourish Basu (Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, University of Maryland), we use the TM5-4DVAR transport model with input from meteorological data to determine the effects of transport and emissions on a continental scale. TM5-4DVar employs a 4-D variational method and optimizes fluxes on a 6° × 4° longitude–latitude grid.

...to regional...

Comparison of total column XCO2 from OCO-2 overpass and WRF simulation.
Comparison of total column XCO2 from OCO-2
overpass and WRF simulation. Source: Lukas Pilz
 

 

To analyze mesoscale phenonoma, we use the Weather Research and Forecasting (WRF) Model to simulate the transport of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. WRF is a modular Eulerian mesoscale model, which simulates atmospheric dynamics based on actual atmospheric conditions or idealized conditions. It allows for nesting a higher-resolved "child" domain in a coarser "parent" domain to zoom into specific regions. WRF-Chem simulates CO2 concentrations by coupling the atmospheric dynamics to CO2 surface fluxes. Our group runs the WRF-Chem model on high resolution to design and evaluate cost-effective observation strategies for fossil CO2 emissions from German metropolitan areas. Furthermore, by coupling with a Langrangian model, we will develop an inversion scheme.

 

 

 

...to local...

 

Dispersion of a source in Heidelberg as simulated by GRAMM/GRAL
                                                                 
Dispersion of a source in Heidelberg as simulated
by GRAMM/GRAL, Source: Sanam Vardag
              

To support political decision-makers in their mitigation efforts, inner-city-resolved CO2 information is needed. The high-resolution transport model GRAMM/GRAL is composed of a mesoscale model (GRAMM) coupled with computational fluid dynamics (CFD) modeling (GRAL). It is a Reynolds Averaged Navier Stokes (RANS) model that can run at 10m x10m resolution over long periods, ranging from months to years. The high temporal and spatial resolution makes the model suitable for monitoring suburban greenhouse gas dispersion. To achieve the required high spatial and temporal resolution with the available computational capacity, the GRAMM/GRAL model uses a so-called "catalog approach": the model simulates a catalog of stationary wind situations for different stability classes, wind speeds ,and wind directions. These 1000+ catalog entries represent a hypothetical simulated wind field library. We choose the wind field by minimizing the differences, between observed and simulated wind speed and direction. The group is collaborating with the group of Prof. Dr. Dominik Brunner (EMPA).

 

 

...from natural to social sciences and with stakeholders!

Diurnal variation of NO2 concentration at Berliner Straße in Heidelberg (2017-2019).

Diurnal variation of NO2 concentration at Berliner Straße in Heidelberg (2017-2019).
Source: Simone Wald
 

The work in the group benefits from the close scientific cooperation of researchers at Heidelberg University. Our overarching goal is to advance climate research in an action-oriented manner. The Heidelberg Center for the Environment (HCE) bundles the activities from different disciplines. Also, the group benefits from a lively exchange with decision-makers e.g. the city of Heidelberg. In this context, we apply the research results in a needs-oriented manner.

The group "Simulation of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere" is part of the group "Remote Sensing of the atmosphere"  (Prof. André Butz). Collaboration with other groups and institutes is welcome. 

Contact

Dr. Sanam Vardag
Universität Heidelberg
Institut für Umweltphysik
Im Neuenheimer Feld 229 (3rd floor, room 330)
69120 Heidelberg
Germany

Phone: +49 6221 54 6511
Email: svardag ( at ) iup.uni-heidelberg.de

People

Dr. Sanam Vardag (group leader)

Leonie Kemeter (Master candidate)

Christopher Lüken-Winkels (PhD candidate)

Robert Maiwald (Master candidate)

Maximilian May (PhD candidate)

Eva-Marie Metz (PhD candidate)

Anna Sommani (PhD candidate)

Lukas Pilz (PhD candidate)

Lea Lilli zur Lage (Projektpraktikum)

Alumni

Simone Wald (M. Sc)

Christopher Lüken-Winkels (M. Sc)

ForschungKontaktPersonenIUPedia

Simulation von Treibhausgasen  in der Atmosphäre (Gruppe Vardag)

Unsere Gruppe beschäftigt sich mit der Verwendung und Verbesserung von atmosphärischen Transportmodellen, um unser Verständnis des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs zu verbessern und Mitigation fundiert zu unterstützen. Wir nutzen Transportmodelle um die Ausbreitung von Treibhausgasen  (insbesondere Kohlendioxid und Methan) zu simulieren und damit einen Vergleich zwischen berichteter Emission und gemessener Konzentration zu ermöglichen. Der Vergleich ermöglicht Rückschlüsse auf Ort, Zeit und Größe von Quellen und Senken im Einzugsgebiet.

Treibhausgase auf verschiedenen Skalen

Treibhausgase verteilen sich dynamisch in der globalen Atmosphäre. Die Treibhausgasverteilung wird daher stark von der Meteorologie beeinflusst. Gleichzeitig beeinflusst die Verteilung von Quellen und Senken die Konzentration. Prozesse, welche Meteorologie und damit Treibhausgasverteilungen beeinflussen, wirken auf Skalen von global über regional bis hin zu lokal. Wir nutzen daher unterschiedliche Modelle, um die relevanten Prozesse auf den jeweiligen Skalen abbilden zu können:

Von global....

Enhancements in Australian XCO<sub>2</sub> caused by transported fire CO<sub>2</sub> emissions from different regions.

Überhöhung des Gesamtsäulen-CO2 über Australien durch transportierte Feueremissionen aus anderen Regionen. Quelle: Eva Schoemann
 

Globale atmosphärische inverse Modelle transportieren a priori Oberflächenflüsse vorwärts und assimilieren Messungen, um globale modellierte atmosphärische Konzentrationen zu erzeugen.  Durch Variation der Oberflächenflüsse wird die Differenz zwischen gemessenen und modellierten Konzentrationen minimiert. In Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Sourish Basu (Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, University of Maryland) verwenden wir das TM5-4DVAR-Transportmodell, um die CO2 Prozesse auf kontinentaler Ebene zu untersuchen. TM5-4DVar nutzt gemessene meteorologische Daten als Input und verwendet eine 4-D-Variationsmethode, um Flüsse auf einem Gitter von 6° × 4° Längen- und Breitengraden zu optimieren.

...über regional....

Comparison of total column XCO2 from OCO-2 overpass and WRF simulation.
Vergleich von gemessenen Gesamtsäulen-CO2
aus OCO-2 Satellitenüberflug mit WRF
simulation. Quelle: Lukas Pilz
 

 

Zur Untersuchung mesoskaliger Effekte, verwenden wir das Weather Research and Forecasting (WRF) Modell. WRF ist ein eulersches mesoskaliges Modell, welches den Transport von Treibhausgasen in der Atmosphäre simuliert. WRF simuliert die atmosphärische Dynamik auf Basis tatsächlicher oder idealisierter atmosphärischer Bedingungen. Eine Verschachtelung eines höher aufgelösten Bereichs  in einen gröberen Bereich ermöglicht es bestimmte Regionen in den Fokus zu nehmen. WRF-Chem simuliert CO2 Konzentrationen durch die Kopplung der atmosphärischen Dynamik mit CO2 Emissionen. In unserer Gruppe setzen wir das WRF-Modell mit hoher Auflösung ein, um kosteneffiziente Beobachtungsstrategien für fossile CO2-Emissionen aus deutschen Ballungsräumen zu entwickeln und zu bewerten. Durch Kopplung mit einem lagrangen Modell wird ein Inversionsschema entwickelt.

 

 

 

...zu lokal...

 

Dispersionssimulation einer Quelle durch das Modell GRAMM/GRAL
                                                                 
Dispersionssimulation einer Quelle mit dem Modell GRAMM-GRAL
Quelle: Sanam Vardag
              

Um politische EntscheidungsträgerInnen in ihren Mitigationsanstrengungen fundiert zu unterstützen, werden innerstädtisch-aufgelöste CO2 Informationen benötigt. Das hochaufgelöste Transportmodell GRAMM-GRAL setzt sich zusammen aus einem mesoskaligen Modell (GRAMM), das mit einem computational fluid dynamics (CFD) Modell (GRAL) gekoppelt wird. Es handelt sich dabei um ein Reynolds- Averaged Navier Stokes (RANS)-Modell, welches mit einer Auflösung von 10m x10m über lange Zeiträume von Monaten bis Jahre betrieben werden kann. Damit eignet sich das Modell für das Monitoring suburbaner Treibhausgasausbreitungen. Um die benötigte hohe räumliche und zeitliche Auflösung mit der zur Verfügung stehenden Rechenkapazität zu erreichen, nutzt das Modell GRAMM-GRAL einen sogenannten „Katalog-Ansatz“: Das Modell simuliert einen Katalog an stationären Windsituationen für verschiedene Stabilitätsklassen, Windgeschwindigkeiten und Windrichtungen. Diese über 1000 Katalogeinträge stellen ein hypothetisches, simuliertes Windfeld dar. Die Wahl des verwendeten Windfeldes erfolgt in einem Matching, also Minimierung der Unterschiede, zwischen beobachteter und simulierter Windgeschwindigkeit und -richtung. Die Gruppe arbeitet  mit der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Dominik Brunner (EMPA) zusammen.

 

...von Natur- zu Sozialwissenschaften und mit EntscheidungsträgerInnen!

Diurnal variation of NO2 concentration at Berliner Straße in Heidelberg (2017-2019).

Tagesgang der NO2 Konzentration an der Berliner Straße in Heidelberg (2017-2019). Quelle: Simone Wald
 

Die Arbeit in der Gruppe profitiert von der engen wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit von ForscherInnen der Universität Heidelberg  und arbeitet dem übergeordneten Ziel zu Klimaforschung aktionsorientiert voranzubringen. Die übergreifenden Aktivitäten werden im Rahmen des Heidelberg Center for the Environment (HCE) gebündelt. Gleichzeitig besteht ein reger Austausch der Gruppe mit Entscheidungsträgern wie z.B. der Stadt Heidelberg. Dabei werden die Forschungsergebnisse bedürfnisorientiert angewandt.

Die Gruppe „Simulation von Treibhausgasen in der Atmosphäre “ ist Teil der Gruppe „Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre“ (Prof. André Butz). Zusammenarbeiten mit weiteren Gruppen, sowie mit anderen Instituten ist erwünscht.

 

Kontakt

Dr. Sanam Vardag
Universität Heidelberg
Institut für Umweltphysik
Im Neuenheimer Feld 229 (3rd floor, room 330)
69120 Heidelberg
Germany

Phone: +49 6221 54 6511
Email: svardag ( at ) iup.uni-heidelberg.de

Personen

Dr. Sanam Vardag (group leader)

Leonie Kemeter (Master candidate)

Christopher Lüken-Winkels (Master candidate)

Robert Maiwald (Master candidate)

Maximilian May (PhD candidate)

Eva-Marie Schoemann (PhD candidate)

Anna Sommani (PhD candidate)

Lukas Pilz (PhD candidate)


Ehemalige

Simone Wald (M. Sc)